Last Hurdle - Heli Coil In The Tank?

duncanstokes256

Typical - last hurdle, putting the ali tank back on and the petrol tap threads on the tank seem shot almost to the point where the tap pushes into the tank missing the threads altogether. Last few threads do bite but not enough to hold the tap to the tank.

Any advice anyone?

Heli coils any good, I've never used them so open to advice (pros and cons).

Tank is very dry inside and paint in v good condition so don't really want to weld up the hole and re-drill.

Help, any thoughts?

Dunc

Duncun,i'm not a fan of helicoils.been a engineer by trade i've come across a lot of them over the years.they are ok as a temp job but i allways advice people to use the steel insert instead.these are ready available of e bay or any engineers suppliers.

I can offer a few tips having used helicoils for years for certain applications.

The primary thing with inserts is to drill and tap parallel. This is more critical when components are bolted together verses inserted like a fuel tap but still good practice.

Its obviously harder to stay parallel when using a hand drill and hand tapping verses a mill bed, say.

You can always make a drill guide for hand drilling with great success. It can be as simple as a small block of timber with a flat face that then has the drill you use "drilled through timber block at 90 degrees to flat surface" by using a drill press for timber guide.

I've even made metal ones that get clamped to job and the block guides the drill through the thread to be repaired. You can also make another guide block for the tap and keep it parallel to repair thread or perpendicular to repair thread. Once well started you can remove guide and tap away...

You are probably going into ally or maybe steel in the tank? Either way use a lubricant to tap, creates a better thread surface.