Trial bike buying advice, brands, spares,good bad etc?

Ginettaman

Looking for a bike for myself and a 125 starter for my son(12).  Budget is about £1500 each so it looks like mid to late 2000's models. So what do we look fork a SH bike as it's a bit of a mine field with bike types and brands. I am a good mechanic so don't mind some resto work occasionally.

Which bikes have the best spares availability ?

Are some parts unobtainable already?

Which are the easiest to get on with?

Which brands should be avoided?

Which models are the ones to search for and why?

Are certain engines used in a number of machines?

Are some bikes fragile?

How can you tell if a 2 stroke is knackered as many of them claim rebuilds?

Are bikes as good after a rebuild or never the same as I gues not all parts are replaced during builds?

Thanks everyone.

At that age and budget there will be more difference between individual bikes than brands.  Sadly the lockdown saw secondhand prices shoot up and now 1500 quid is a old banger.  Lots of people will have view on brands and models but you will be lucky to find anything half decent in your price range.

I am miserly and tight fisted and really wanted to stick to a couple of grand as a maximum but once you get hooked it sort of runs away with you.  (I have a 2022 TRS now....)

• Like 2

At that price it's more about condition than brand although someone may suggest avoiding certain makes at that age. Personally I'd be looking for beta evo 250 or 200 if there was one and a 125 for your son. Could get away with big wheel beta 80 but depending on his size of wouldn't last long.