Carb overflow peeing out fuel - stops when petcock set to RES

lowside

Hi all,

I'm hoping someone can give me an idea of what the problem might be.  Bike is a 2022 Sherco 250 Fajardo.  Carb is Keihin.  I bought it about a month ago as a good used example.  I rode it for an hour, then stored it for around 4 weeks.  No issues.

Took it out today for a couple of hours.  No mishaps, falls or anything unusual.  Not sure if any leaks, but didn't notice any smell.  Bike ran fine and I'm just a beginner, so it was just gentle riding around, mostly watching my son ride.

Drove it home once cooled and put it in the garage.  Realised whilst browsing manual for something else, that the petcock position i thought was off, is actually reserve according to the manual.  To prevent possible leaks, I went out and moved it to what the manual calls the off position.  An hour later I'm in the garage again and theres a strong smell of petrol.  Looked and the entire garage floor is flooded with fuel.  Almost whole tank has drained.

Further inspection shows that the fuel was coming from the carb overflow and it wasn't dripping, it was gushing out.  However, fuel only comes out if the petcock is set to what the manual calls the "on" or "off" position.  When in the "reserve" position, it doesn't leak at all!  To be honest, I think I'd stored it for weeks with it in the reserve position too, having got it wrong from the start.  I'd periodically checked for leaks and there had been nothing, so I'd convinced myself I'd got the correct position.

I've been reading around and I can understand how certain issues with the carb that would cause it to overflow, but that doesn't explain how the tap position is affecting this so absolutely.