2006 Beta Rev 3 Help

darrensn

Hi All, my brother recently baught a 2006 rev 3 250cc from a UK beta dealer. He was told on delivery that the bike has running in jets in the carb. He was told to ride it 5 or 6 times then return it to the dealer to have the jets changed. Since day one the bike has run smokey on choke, even when warmed up (off choke) it feels choked (not crisp) and he has to change gear a lot as it fluffs out when revved. He has now used it 5 times without improvement and it is due to go back to the dealer. He was also told to run the fuel at 50:1 but the book states 66:1 ? Basically do beta's come with running in jets and should they be run at 50:1. Why Would a new bike run choked ? It also leaks fuel from the carb when not running, Is this sorted under his 6 month warranty ?

Thanks

Darren.

I'm no Beta expert or any other type of expert for that matter, but it sounds like 50:1 is too rich. My Sherco is run at 80:1 and I've heard of some going 100:1 (though that sounds a little risky to me). Also, I think most new bike typically require a jetting change when new depending on where you live.

Like I said, I'm no expert so it might be wise to seek someone who is.

I'm no Beta expert or any other type of expert for that matter, but it sounds like 50:1 is too rich. My Sherco is run at 80:1 and I've heard of some going 100:1

I think this oil mix thing is a grey area.Its all down to preference in my opinion.The recomended mix for a 290 sherco is 2%(50:1)I recently posted a topic regarding fuel/oil ratio,because my 290 seems to choke up slightly.Replies vary,50:1.75:1 etc etc.

First,i wouldnt be tempted to mess.If you have run it the five or six times,take it back to the dealer as they requested.