Montesa 315 For A 'born Again' Trials Rider

johnnyboxer

I've been browsing here for about 6 months on TA and TC.

I read the topics with interest.........learning about the pros and cons of the new Modern Mono's.

I last competed and rode a trials bike about 15 years ago in late 80's when I had a TY250R Mono Yam,having competed as a schoolboy in 70's and early 80's on a TY175 Twinshock............

Having been Greenlaning for last 10 or so years on Honda XR's...........I've become disillusioned and fancy a return to UK Trials.........

So I've been deliberating about a modern Mono and settled on a post 2000 Montesa Cota 315............. for the following reasons :-

a) Honda involvement in the bike

:rolleyes: Proven Reliability and build quality

c) They look gorgeous in red

d) Residuals etc

I know that there are tricker, lighter bikes but I'm only ever going to be a Clubman rider...........so it's more than good enough for me......

I've got chance of a 2001 one ..........that's never been trialled and only used as a playbike............so should be in good nick as long as mechanicals haven't suffered by a lax owner

OR a 2002 bike that is OK........but has been trialled.

Is there much difference between a 2002 and 2001.

Other Montesa questions I have are :-

1. Is the airbox fairly watertight..........other bikes seem to suffer

2. Does the 2001 bike have revised steering geometry to go with Showa forks and better carb?

3. Any other mods I should look for ?

4. What protection should I get to Trial on for forks/frame etc.

5. Are the engines under normal use pretty bullet proof or do they need rings/pistons and rods every season............plus mains etc from time to time?

In general is there anything else I need to know about the bike...........

I have studied all the other bikes - Sherco/GasGas/Beta/Scorpa and mainly discounted them for me on general advice from other riders/dealers .....

Thanks for your help,

John

Edited by Johnnyboxer