Early Bultacos

laird387

Hi,

An interesting picture as Tommy Ollerton presents his machine, the Bultaco trials model developed by Jack Anelay in Lancashire, to the scrutineers to have the non-removable components marked, at the start of the 1962 Scottish.

Enjoy

post-19290-0-87775100-1389880086_thumb.jpg

Hi,

Terrible admission but I haven't a clue who, when or where this Bultaco rider is - 'cos we used the Cecil Bailey image in the story of Gordon Francis, the photographer, seen here with his Speed Graphic camera.

I have no doubt some knowledgeable member can fill in the details - so please help.

My only guess is Paul Dunkley - but that is a guess!

Meantime, enjoy.

post-19290-0-68517000-1389892256_thumb.jpg

Edited by laird387

Paul Dunkley it ain't -- sadly.

Am I right in saying that Jack Anelay was a dealer from Blackburn Lancashire??

Am I right in saying that Anelay's did a lot of the development work to the Sherpa N

(pre- Sherpa T) --- witness here in the 62 SSDT ??

And yet when the Sherpa T appeared in 64/65, the Rickmans were the importers

and Anelays were never mentioned again and very rarely today.

What's the story ?? Charlie P. must know something more.

Regards

Sparks

Edited by sparks2

Hi Guy's.

Sparks .

The story is the politics of the time?

After putting in all of the effort and bringing Bultaco to the fore in the racing world, with some brilliant wins on what were basically development bikes Dan Shorey was eventually palmed off with unreliable machinery.

And being has forthright has he is didn't help. and he told them so.

Then don't forget we and has you say Anelay's had done most of the work to make a trials bike out of the Sherpa N?

Well Bultaco wanted the frames from the Rickman brothers for the scrambler engine? Now don't forget Bultaco's main line was building and selling engines, and outlets for the continuos production was needed.

A lot of engines went into Karts has this was also a growing market.