Don't want these Ads? Why not sign up as a Trials Central Supporter.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
leosantanalg

Difference between double blip and Zap?

9 posts in this topic

I m novice to the sport with only 10hrs or so on my New Gas gas contact 250.

Could anyone tell me the difference between the double blip and Zap. I have watched several videos of both and seems the exact same technique.

what's the difference?? which one clears higher obstacles?  

Also, as a beginner, I m struggling with the right finger on the front Brake. should I cover it at all times? even during wheelies? I cover the clutch at all times but left hand does not require wrist motion... any tips on that?? Thanks a lot everyone 

Don't want these Ads? Why not sign up as a Trials Central Supporter.

Posted (edited)

First blip lifts the front wheel to the obstacle from the same distance away from the obstacle as its height . Touch the wheel on the obstacle at a point usually 3/4 of its height,at this point both suspenions are compressed a little ,the second blip drives the bike up the obslacle ....back off the throttle a little when the rear wheel reaches the top to keep traction and to drop the front in a controlled manner.

Zap is when you ride towards a step etc slipping the clutch and building sufficient revs to achieve the right result and then at the correct distance away you jam down with a lot of force through the footrests so compressing front and rear suspensions and at that moment release the clutch sharply with a lot of revs on and this catapults you towards the step forward and upward if you have the correct body position on the bike.....it is more complicated than that but that is the gist of it......you need to get Ryan Young's Training videos 1 & 2  and spend hours studying the moves if you want to get to grips with trials techniques....nobody covers them more thoroughly on any other videos they are a 'Must have' if you want to achieve success.