Insurance Or Not?

davybull

I've been riding on some land in Cumbria for 4 years now with permission from the landowner, who I have riden with a number of times.

The land however is a public right of way and I got pulled by a Police officer the other day whilst riding and he "Strongly" advised me to get the bike insured. He said that if I had been riding irresponsibly or where there were a number of people he would have nicked me!!!!!!!!!

I have seen Police officers on the land before and they have not botherd one bit.

So the question..... Do I need to be insured on this private land?????

I was told that I didn't need it but now I have my doubts and will register the bike and get it insured if necessary.

Cheers.

Edited by davybull

yoe to ur bike does not have to be registered or insured if it is on private use registrations are for the road and so is insurance and if u are not using the rode you dont need it that police man is talking out of his a***

I think he was referring to some sort of public liability insurance which third party covers so if you run someone over or injured them then they could claim against you.

This probably only applies to private land which is also used by third parties i.e. the rambler brigade or if its an old bridleway or ROW which happens to pass through farmers land.

Either ask the landowner to designate one area for bikes and not for joe public thus keeping the law happy or get the insurance if its a good place to ride and its worth it.

we almost got caught by the law today while playin about on a private land track which runs parallel to the main road but luckily they drove up the mountainside to catch us at the top but we doubled back.

Its getting so that its increasingly difficult to ride anywhere without the law on your case.

Let me ask this elsewhere because it sounds like he was being a Pr@t.