New To Trials Help

colly

hey im new to trials, i had a little mx bike, for a a few weeks, then i got a gas gas 250 contact, i rode it for the 1st time last nite and did pretty well, just how do you lift the front wheel what gear. do you do it with the clutch or just the accelearator? :wacko: thanks

Have trackstand down yet?

Assuming that you have, 1st gear do fine. ([edited: 2nd gear is best for training.])

The weight shifting is very important in trials. Have always your weight on your feet not on hands.

For fornt wheel lifting you should try both, clutch and thortle lifting.

For thortle ups use your weight to compress your forks and when susp. rebounds follow the rebound movement w/ your body and blib thorthle.

Don

Edited by Da Make

I would suggest you stick to clutchless lifting of the front wheel. Using the clutch can ofter lead to wheel spin in a section and is just not needed. If you compress the front a little and then pull your weight back at the same time a feeding in a little throttle the front WILL lift. If you want to lift the front up for a step or obsticle rather than a full blown wheelie you need very little throttle. Just get used to using your weight and a little blip to get it up.

I disagree with the above comment about using second. All us more experianced riders who started out using second are constantly being told by better riders that we should be in first and once your used to second it's difficult to get back down to riding in first. All modern trials bikes are perfectly suitable to first gear riding in most sections. Only when you start taking on big climbs or using advanced techniques do you really need to go up the box.

Since your just starting out the best advice is to set up a simple section and ride it until you can clean it every time then make it more difficult by moving on to a different section or just moving the markers in a bit to tighten it up. Practice practice practice its the only way.