Beta Rev 3 carb leaking please help.

betabell

I am having some problems with the carb on my Beta rev 3 250cc 2005 trials bike. I have had the bike a few months and have just been using the bike in fields, going up hills as I am new to trials. The bike starts well normally first or second kick. Recently I noticed that the carb was leaking, I think it has always done this but I had not noticed before. The carb has got the atmospheric tubes looped of the top of the carb and cut at an angle  in the end.Petrol drips out from the over flow in the float bowl. This does not happen when the bike ticks over but when you rev the bike half to 3/4 throttle.I am not a mechanic and have little experience with carbs and have been trying to lean as I go but there is little information available on the net about. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here is what I have tried.

I have bent the small tab on the float arm so that the fuel shuts off sooner.

I have bent the float arms where they touch the floats  

I then brought a new float valve assemble thinking it was not seating properly. This did not seam to make a difference.

I have read the Billy Traynor set up details when I set it up as described petrol just pores out.

I have taken the carb off the bike fire or six times trying to make small adjustments to correct it but I don't seam to be getting any where I must be missing something? Or maybe there is some other part that needs replacing?  

I am  getting a little frustrated and am wondering if I should just buy a new carb? 

Reading the Billy Traynor information it sounds like the float arm should only move 2mm which seams a really small amount of movement. 

James

Edited by betabell
Spelling

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic