Trials modern tires

Hooser1956

Afternoon, I’m new to trials, not to vintage racing or trail ridding.  I’m in the middle of replacing all four of my trials bike tires.  I’m not “ stuck” on any one brand name.  So I just ordered a set of really soft Michelins for my Ty175.  Was riding a new Beta trials around the lot and couldn’t help but notice at just how sticky the tires were on the Beta trials bike.  So I ordered a set. Michelins 

I’ve got new but older Dunlops, been on my shelf for a couple of years.  Those are on a stock TL 125,  seem fine but not as sticky as the new Michelin trials tires.

im in need of new trials tires for a new to me, Honda TLR200.   Keeping my options open, any suggestions on tires, but would like examples of why you would recommend a specific tire.  I’ll be starting on the 2 line,  “. Lol, and I may end my short lived Trials career on the 2 line. Truthfully I would like to advance my trials skills, winning isn’t important anymore, it’s the fellowship, the friendships which are import to me.  

sorry,  back to trials tires.  thank you all in advance.

dirk

I don't know what tyres are available to you but if you can get a rear tube type IRC trials tyre it will be great on your TLR for trials. None of the other brands make tube type rear trials tyres. The Michelin rears are tubeless type and are more difficult to get to stay sitting on the bead seats on a tube type rim. The IRC is an amazingly grippy tyre like the Michelin. It is more sensitive to tyre pressure being too low than the Michelin as in the rear of the bike moves around if the pressure is too low.

Where I live I can't get IRC rears for my twinshocks so I buy Michelin rears and trim the beads so they fit properly on my tube type rims.

• Like 1

Feet up fun, thank you for the response.  I did not know the Michelins were tubeless,  seems to me that’s going to present a problem, this Michelin set of tires is for a TY 175.