Front End Pushes On/washes Out

binnes

MY 2002 Sherco 290 seems to suffer from the front end pushing on/washing out in tight turns.

I'm a beginner at trials and thought at first it is my technique, but a friend of mine rode the bike at the weekend and said he had the same problem.

I'm 6'2" so I have the bars fairly far forward to make it comfier. Could this be making it worse?

Any thoughts?

Welcome!

Short answer, yes! My mate (Nicks_TR34) is having a similar problem and watching him yesterday, his weight is too far forward. Get your weight back and try to ride the bike 'from the rear tyre'. Rocking the bars back will certainly help things.

Check that the front brake isn't binding though. Any binding will cause understeer. I suspect that the bars being forward is the biggest factor though.

Graham

Compared to other brands Shercos are light in the front end but there are a whole host of things that will make the front end push. So yes check the fork height in the triple clamps and make sure there isn't too much air pressure in your tires and make sure the suspension is balanced and you don't have much more preload on one suspension then the other but the best advice is get used to steering with those big connecting rods that make you 6' 2". Bar position is usually not one of the biggies as there is a wide range of bar positions used by the top riders and they can make them all work. If your bars are vertical to slightly forward of vertical that's a fairly common position. Contrary to intuition having the bars further forward doesn't necessarily put more pressure on the front end. The opposite is true because you will be sticking your rear counter weight out and unless you look like Popeye (in which case a thyroid exam is a good idea) your butt weighs more then your arms.