Crankcase damage

Mark97

Hi, I am a newbie member but I have purchased a Yamaha TY 175 1980 to do some twinshock trials for fun. I have stripped the bike down for a light restoration, but on removing the flywheel cover spotted some black silicone to the front and slightly above the front sprocket and behind the clutch adjustment screw/bolt. Removing the silicone revealed what looks like Quick Steel type repair putty had been used. The bike had not been leaking from this location, and the area of damage looks quite small. My concern is that in this location there appears to be a small steel cap pressed in to the aluminium casting, what is this for? Am I OK to ignore it as the sproket seems to rotate freely and smoothly or should I look at getting it welded properly? I would need to locate someone who welds alloy in Essex. I have looked for replacement crank case halves but they seem to be in short supply. any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Mark

If it hasn't been leaking then you're probably safe to use as is

Getting it welded should involve stripping the motor fully & takes some serious skill to do it properly without causing distortion. 

Not familiar with the 175 motor so I don't know about the steel cap, a photo would help to confirm that welding isn't needed

image.png.e35700f17874203778af8691424102c9.png

The red mark on the image above shows the location of the damage, the steel cap is the black circle. I have not split the crankcase so was wondering what is behind the piece that is damaged? does a shaft of some description sit in there?

Regards

Mark

The black circle is a bung fitted to seal a manufacturing hole in the gearbox casing. The hole is there to allow the casing to be machined to provide the left end bearing for the shift drum. There are no rolling element bearings on either end of the shift drum. Provided the crack doesn't allow misalignment of the shift drum, it should be fine without a weld repair

• Like 1