Suspension Sag

southwester

I have been riding my 07 Rev 3 250 with the pre load in forks and shock maxed out as this is what it recommends in the owners manual for the forks for my weight (over 80 Kilo as I'm 15.5 stone) there is no mention for the shock so I maxed that out as well.

There was 3/4" bike on ground fork sag but no rear sag set up like this also I've had rebound screws front and rear completely undone.

Sag on the rear was about 3.5" with me aboard the bike

From what I've read the spring rates if stock arnt the correct rate for my weight which I'm not really keen on changing as I'm only a beginner and have chucked a possibly unnecessary good few quid at it already, but I would like to do what is do what I can with what I got.

Playing with the settings last week I wound out the fork preload adjuster all the way and slacked of the rear so I had about 3/4" bike on ground rear sag to see what the difference was, When I rode it Saturday the front wheel turned left and right while riding over rocks where it had held straight previously so I wound fork preload adjuster all the way back in again which sorted out that problem.

Sag on the rear is about 4" with me aboard the bike

I still haven't tried riding with adjusted rebound but with the fork adjuster screwed all the way out or in doesnt seem to make any difference whilst compressing them in the garage anyway.

So as the owners manual recommends the fork preload is maxed out for my weight where is a good starting point for the rear sag without me on the bike as that seems all I can control, also I will screw rebound adjusters to the mid position if they do, do anything.

Handlebars

I have had handlebars with rise vertical up to now but have rotated them forward a few degrees to see what difference this makes?

Any thoughts welcome