How Long On The Choke?

yammafan

I’ve heard a few people mention that once I start my bike on the choke, to take it off the choke as soon as possible. Is this right? Does it matter how long I run it on the choke? Is there a better way to start a 2-stroke?

I’ve never had any trouble in the past but just wanted to make sure I was doing the best for the bike.

As you can probably tell I’m quite new to trials!

Once started, I use this procedure ( I got it from NASA :hyper: ):-

One-elephant, two-elephant.....all the way up to seven then lower the choke and rev the bike a little...have I got OCD?

• Like 1

:agreed: not good for the motor not just plug oiling but on a four stroke can almost eliminate the film of oil that protects the motor when it needs it most on cold start up.

I shut off the choke as soon as the engine starts for the same reason. I use very light throttle "blips" to keep the bike running at low RPMs until it can idle on it's own (usually fairly quickly if the jetting is correct). Initial start-up can be really hard on an engine as the clearances (piston/cylinder) are very tight and any over-revving will cause excessive wear and in unusual circumstances, cold-seizure. On my Dellorto, I drill the starter jet out to #80 (.031") and have no problems with start-up in any weather.

Jon

I would agree with the get off the choke as soon as possible on a four stroke but would disagree on a two stroke.The choke lets in additional fuel to make it easier to start but in doing that it also allows more oil into the motor as it is part of the mix.A good percentage of a motors wear comes at cold start up.To have more oil at this critical time could not hurt.At 40 degrees [F] the motor sure seems to run smoother,quicker if I use the choke for 20 seconds then hold idle up with the throttle.So without the choke, really you are forcing a motor to run lean,which does not help a motor that has very tight piston and ring clearance. Of course I could be all wet.