Ever Put A Tach On Your Gasgas?

doc_d

I'm new to trials and recently bought a 2014 GasGas TXT 250 Pro.  I had a plugged pilot jet so I tore the carb apart and cleaned it up.  I set the idle by ear but being the analytic type, I was curious what the idle speed was.  I have a cheap trail tech tach/hour meter (see the link).  You just wrap a wire around the spark plug wire and it picks up the ignition firing inductively.  I've used this on my 4 stroke KTM successfully.

I put it on my GasGas  just temporarily to see where my idle was set.   I set up the tach so that it would expect one ignition event per revolution (i.e. two stroke).  The tach picks up a signal but the RPM is off.  It hovers around 3840 and then drops to 2400ish when I rev it which seems quite odd.  I'm not sure if there is something odd about the GasGas that's preventing the tach from working correctly.  I'm curious if anyone has sucessfully used one of these cheap tachs to read the RPM of your GasGas.

http://www.amazon.com/Trail-Tech-723-A00-Digital-Tachometer/dp/B0068EQZ06/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1456786206&sr=8-2&keywords=tto+tachometer

WHY?

As I explained in the original post, I tore my carb down to clean it.  When I put it back on, I just wanted to put the tach on temporarily to set the idle.  Yes, I can set it ear but it would be nice knowing it was set close to what the factory specifies.

The factory has nothing to do with your riding preferences. Some like a high Idle so they don`t stall, some like it to just barely keep running. The only bikes that really need to care about idle speed are the one`s with fuel injection.

• Like 2

A four stroke (can) fire each rotation of the crank, but only combusts ones per two rotations. But different setups are possible.

A two stroke, and so your gas gas, should fire every revolution, so every spark should be counted as a rev. Is the tachometer programmable for this? Otherwise it might be caused by radio waves and a non-resistor type spark plug?