How Much!

chewy

Rather than present this as a moaning whinging old git it ocurred to me to seek a concensus regarding what we are prepapared to pay for our passion. This thought was "sparked" off by realising that we are now in the age of paying

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Trials is the cheapest form of motorsport that you can find. We get a good deal, the sport on the whole is relaxed and friendly, it is open to all ages, we can ride almost every weekend, most can use their bike to practice mid week if they wish and at the end of the year a new bike doesn't cost the earth. What other sport can you compete side by side with your children and your parents if you want to?

I have no experience of MX so I won't comment on that, but compared to road racing, trials is run on 'petty cash.'

Here's a guestimate of the costs.

• Typical entry fee: Trials - £13, Racing - £100 (+ £25 for each additional race.)
  • Licence: Trials £10, Racing £65 + Medical at £100 = £165
  • Minimum new Clothing required: Trials - Boots and Helmet £200, Racing - Boots, Helmet, Leathers, Gloves, Body Armour - £1500
  • Tyres: Trials - 1 set a year £140, Racing - (Ten events per year x £240) = £2400
  • Bike: Trials - £4600, Racing - £14000
  • Machine Preparation: Trials - None, Racing - How much you got? Minimum of £2000.
  • Tools: Trials - Plug spanner and a foot pump, Racing - If you've got it you will need it, plus tyre warmers, plus van, etc etc

And here's the big one and it's not money, it's time spent on the bike in each event: Trials 3 hours, Racing 45 mins!

You can ride in 50 trials a year, you struggle to do 20 road race meetings even if you travel all over the UK.

Trials is very, very good value for money and long may it continue! :icon_salut:

Edited by Pete_Scorpa3