2002 290 Resoration - New To Trials

bmktw2

Hello there my friend. Thank you for viewing my post. Let me start by saying that I love you all.

My name is Nick. I'm am all that is, was, and ever will be. But in this world of mooney, I'm just a boiler tube welder from north Florida.

This post is about me restoring my Sherco290 so maybe someone else who finds a POS trail bike will be willing to take a chance and fix it up.

I've been riding motorcycle since I was a kid but recently I have really gotten into riding them everyday.

My first off road bike a 2007 TW200:

T-dub.jpg

The TW200 is the best all-around motorcycle I have ever owned. I put the ATV handlebars and added a kickstarter.

This is a truly amazing machine. Very under-estimated.

This is my 2005 XR650R Its a MONSTER HORSEPOWER MACHINE

downsize3.jpg

A totally insane thrill ride. I've put a Mikuni pumper carb TM-40 on this beast. This bike can make you p*** yourself.

And last but not least is my new 2002 Sherco290

downsize2.jpg

I just got it a few days ago. It came with a new PWK KIEKEN carb!!! I'm restoring the bike to my standards...

DSC03875.jpg

I'm cleaning off the "ghetto painted" parts the last owner pained the tripple clamps blue and header black with some cheap sparay paint. I changed the gearbox oil with maxima oil and the old oil was BROWN!!!!!

After that I'm going to put in new fork seals, new pillowtop grips, new brake levers and she should be ready to test ride.

I'll post more as my sherco progresses.

Is it a big deal to use 5wt oil? I found a good deal on some 10wt maxima oil but dont know if there will be much difference... I plan to do some trail riding also if that makes any difference.

Edited by bmktw2

I cleaned off the lame blue paint on the tripple clamps and the black paint on the header with aircraft paint remover.

Then I cleaned and re-packed the steam bearings and put it all back together.

The bike is restored back to original... somewhat.

DSC03882.jpg