To wear or not to wear ....Body Armour

slickgolf_0

Hi

I am fairly new to the sport of trials.

After 18 months of cuts and bruises I have taken to wearing some armour , knee and elbow .

It has made a huge difference and will not ride without it now.

I know the pros would not be seen dead wearing armour but why do so many club riders refuse to wear any , its the club rider that takes most of the damage.

I use light weight mountain bike gear , it does not get in the way , it gets a little hot in the warmer weather but its a trade I am happy to live with.

What is the general feeling from the old timers of trials ?

Hi

After 18 months of cuts and bruises I have taken to wearing some armour , knee and elbow .

I know the pros would not be seen dead wearing armour but why do so many club riders refuse to wear any , its the club rider that takes most of the damage.

I use light weight mountain bike gear , it does not get in the way , it gets a little hot in the warmer weather but its a trade I am happy to live with.

I started riding Trials in the ski cap (the louder color, the better, and you just HAD to a little yarn ball at the top) and goggles era (we didn't wear helmets until some of us got hold of some Bell kite soaring helmets that had the large cut-out at the back that didn't dig into our necks) but I'm a firm believer that you should use any protective equipment you feel is necessary. I don't think any "real" Trials rider will think less of you for taking care of yourself.

Jon

ps. I started riding scrambles with an old "Stadium" pudding bowl helmet, so I guess I've always felt safety is an issue. Then again, it may be why I'm still able to ride...:)

Edited by JSE

There is the bare minimum (helmet)

and there is the extreme (suit of armor)

And most of us fall somewhere in between. Wear what YOU feel is necessary and YOU are comfortable with.